## THE NEW YORK FLUTE CLUB, INC. Minutes of the Annual Meeting May 19, 2019

The annual meeting of the membership of the New York Flute Club, Inc. took place at Pearl Studios, 500 8th Avenue, NYC. NYFC President Nancy Toff called the meeting to order at 3:02 pm.

On a motion by Lauren Klasewitz, seconded by Diane Couzens, the members voted to waive the reading of the minutes of the 2018 annual meeting. On a motion by Gail Tishcoff, seconded by Lee Koss, the minutes of the 2018 annual meeting were approved unanimously.

Members received copies of the 2018-19 fiscal year Treasurer's Report, prepared by Nicole Schroeder. On a motion by Frances Lenci, seconded by Ann Bordley, the Treasurer's Report was approved unanimously.

Nancy Toff presented the President's Report. She reviewed the highlights of the 2018-19 season, which included a Sollberger birthday celebration, two themed concerts (one on Armistice Day and one at the Center for Jewish History), the 2019 Flute Fair featuring flutist Jeffrey Khaner, and recitals by Aaron Goldman and last year's intended Flute Fair artist Karl-Heinz Schutz. The flute fair (at the Columbia University Faculty House) ran a slight deficit (40 less attendees than needed to break even); next year's fair will be at a different venue. Regarding NYFC personnel for the coming year, Amy Appleton will be coordinating a reinvigorated Education program and Jessica Yang will be coming in as Social Media chair. Kathy Saenger will be training Jeff Mitchell in the membership secretary duties and treasurer-elect Rie Schmidt will be training a replacement as well. Highlights of the upcoming 2019-20 centennial season include a September "100 Flutes" concert and picnic at Governors Island coordinated by Pat Zuber, and an 8:00 pm gala concert at Merkin Hall on November 17 featuring the premiere of the NYFC's centennial commission piece and performances by some of the area's most distinguished flutists.

The next item of business was the election of new officers and the board of directors. The proposed slate of officers and directors was as follows:

President: Nancy Toff Recording Secretary: Deirdre McArdle
1st Vice President: Patricia Zuber Membership Secretary: Katherine Saenger

2nd Vice President: Kaoru Hinata Treasurer: Rie Schmidt

The proposed slate of directors was as follows:

Jeff Mitchell, Nicole Schroeder, and Malcom Spector for 3-year terms; Jayn Rosenfeld for a 2-year term.

They will join previously elected board members Jenny Cline, Diane Couzens, and Linda Rappaport who are still serving their terms.

Mark Vickers made a motion to vote on the proposed slate of officers and directors as a bloc. The motion was seconded by Ann Bordley and passed unanimously.

The proposed slate of officers was then voted on and approved unanimously.

On a motion by Ann Bordley, seconded by Mark Vickers, the meeting adjourned at 3:12 pm.

Respectfully submitted.

Kathorine Saenger

Katherine Saenger, Acting Recording Secretary